top of page

C.V. Ramamoorthy Award


Dr. C.V. Ramamoorthy (1926-2016)  was formerly a professor at the University of California at Berkeley.  He was a strong promoter of the field Knowledge Engineering and the founding Editor in Chief of the IEEE Transactions of Data and Knowledge Engineering.

Dr. Ramamoorthy received six earned degrees, including an undergraduate degree in physics and also an undergraduate degree in textile technology, two graduate degrees in Mechanical Engineering and later two graduate degrees from Harvard in Applied Mathematics and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, including his Ph.D. Degree in 1964.

He then joined the University of Texas, Austin, as a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. He also served as the Chair of the UT Austin Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and then in 1972 he joined UC Berkeley as a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

Professor Ramamoorthy was also an outstanding educator whose work has contributed significantly to several aspects of engineering, computer science, and software engineering. He supervised 73 Ph.D. students and he greatly mentored each of his students. Together with Raymond T. Yeh, he is given credit for the early establishment of the discipline of software engineering, the largest of all the engineering disciplines. He was an important figure in the development of computing technology, and was always looking forward to the future. He had a large following worldwide with whom he actively collaborated until the last few months of his life. 

The IEEE AIKE conference presents the C.V. Ramamoorthy Award annually to a researcher who makes significant contributions to artificial intelligence and knowledge engineering. The award consists of a bronze medal, a certificate, and an honorarium of USD$2,000.


Nominations for the C.V. Ramamoorthy Award should be submitted to by April 15 of each year, and the recipient will be announced on May 5, the birthday of Professor Ramamoorthy.

2018 C.V. Ramamoorthy Award Committee (Tentative)

  • Farokh Bastani, University of Texas, Dallas, USA

  • Bharat Bhargava, Purdue University, USA

  • Nik Bourbakis, Wright State University, USA

  • Mani Chandy, California Institute of Technology, USA

  • Wen-Tsuen Chen, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan (CHAIR)

  • Atila Ertas, Texas Tech University, USA

  • Oscar Garcia, University of North Texas, USA

  • Arif Ghafoor, Purdue University, USA

  • Raymond Paul, DoD, USA (ret)

  • Atul Prakash, University of Michigan, USA

  • Shashi Shekhar, University of Minnesota, USA

  • Phillip Sheu, University of California, Irvine, USA 

  • Murat Tanik, University of Alabama, USA

  • Bhavani Thuraisingham, University of Texas, Dallas, USA

  • Jeffrey J.P. Tsai, Asia University, Taiwan

  • Murali Varanasi, University of North Texas, USA

  • Benjamin Wah, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China

  • Belle Wei, San Jose State University, USA

  • Hiroshi Yamaguchi, Chuo University, Japan

  • Raymond Yeh, IC2 Institute, The University of Texas at Austin, USA

bottom of page